The University of Duisburg-Essen has established an award in the memory of Professor Paul M. Frank, who was one of the pioneers and great contributors to the fault diagnosis area.

ude-logo_en (1)

The Paul M. Frank Award will be given at SAFEPROCESS 2018 to honor the best theoretical paper presented.

The award consists of a certificate and an amount of 1000 euros.  The oral presentation of the paper is a criterion for the Award attribution. The Award will be announced at the closing ceremony.


We are pleased to announce SAFEPROCESS 2018 Paul M. Frank Award laureates:


Zoltan Szabo, Tamas Peni, Jozsef Bokor for the paper Annihilator design for linear parameter varying systems

Honorable Mentions:

  • Yongzshao Hua, Xiiwang Dong, Qingdong Li,  Zhang Ren for the paper Fault tolerant time-varying formation tracking for second order multi-agent systems with actuator faults and a non-cooperative target
  • Kai Schenk, Baris Gulbitti, Jan Lunze for the paper Cooperative Fault Tolerant Control of Networked Control Systems
  • Vahab Rostampour, Ricardo Ferrari, Andre Teixeira, Tamas Keviczky for the paper Differentially-Private Distributed Fault Diagnosis for Large-Scale Nonlinear Uncertain Systems


  • Steven Ding
  • Michel Kinnaert
  • Ron Patton